How to setup guest to guest networking on VirtualBox

thehourmanthehourman Member Posts: 723
I am trying to connect the two guest OSes which are both Server 2008 R2.
I can ping the other guest(server) from guest OS, and I can ping the host PC as well; however, I can't remote desktop to the other guest machine. I already disable the firewalls on both guest machines. I can't add another forest on the existing forest. So I am pretty much stuck on one server.

The IP subnet on both guest machines is 192.168.1.0/24. The host machine is in the same subnet.

I also have tried to bridge the virtualbox' adapter to the host lan adapter, but still not working.

If you guys have done this, please I really need to get this working. I can't move on, on my studies because of this, and the time is ticking. I am currently studying 70-640 Active Directory.

Thanks
Studying:
Working on CCNA: Security. Start date: 12.28.10
Microsoft 70-640 - on hold (This is not taking me anywhere. I started this in October, and it is December now, I am still on page 221. WTH!)
Reading:
Network Warrior - Currently at Part II
Reading IPv6 Essentials 2nd Edition - on hold

Comments

• QHaloQHalo Member Posts: 1,488
    You need to enable Remote Display. I'm using Virtualbox on the Mac and to do it, you simply ensure that you're on the VM window when its turned on and then select Device, and Enable Remote Display from the tool bar. I'm sure it's something similar on Windows.

http://www.virtualbox.org/manual/ch07.html
  • undomielundomiel Member Posts: 2,818
    First off make sure you didn't disable the windows firewall service just that you turned off the firewall for domain networks (or private networks if they're not joined to a domain yet) then make sure that you've enabled remote desktop on the machine you're trying to connect to.
    Jumping on the IT blogging band wagon -- http://www.jefferyland.com/
  • MentholMooseMentholMoose Member Posts: 1,525 ■■■■■■■■□□