Job Resources

ehndeehnde Member Posts: 1,103
I'd like to compile a resource list for jobs to maximize chances of getting a job (I'm not applying for anything until I finish A+, at which time I'll be MCP and A+ certified in December).

So I checked out the IT job boards thread - it's dated, but still mostly relevant. Here are the main points I'd like to hit on that I'd like your opinions/advice/comments on:

I hear alot of talk about recruiters. Seeing as how I have no experience and am open to any avenue, how do you go about initiating communication with these people? Or do they contact you?

Job finding web sites:
Monster+HotJobs — Search Open Jobs, Post Resumes, Find Opportunity.
Dice.com - Job Search for Technology Professionals
Find Jobs. Build a Better Career. Find Your Calling. | Monster.com
ComputerWork.com IT High Tech Jobs Board: Employers Post Job | Search resumes bank, Computer Professionals free resume post and job search on Technical Employment Career Boards
Outsource to Freelancers, IT Companies, Programmers, Web Designers from India, Russia, USA, and more

Other resources:
LinkedIn | Relationships Matter (please pm me if you want another contact :) )
local newspapers
unemployment office
college employment counselor (I graduate with an A.S. in May)
state jobs website
"careers" links on local businesses websitesIf you see any links I've posted that suck, please let me know. If I didn't post a link that could be a great benefit, I'd like to hear about it! If you have alternative suggestions that I didn't think of please say so.

Thanks guys!
Climb a mountain, tell no one.

Comments

• earweedearweed Member Posts: 5,192 ■■■■■■■■■□
    A word of advice. Start now in getting your resume ready and applying. If nothing else you may get some interview experience.That Unix cert you have may help you out also.