Any Technical Authors?

stupidboystupidboy Member Posts: 470
I was wondering if there are any technical authors here on TE that have published works? I may (big on the may at this point) be on this route myself and am looking for any information that might be worth sharing with a complete newbie.

This is not really something that I have ever considered but an opportunity has arisen and I would like to take it, but I would like to go in with my eyes wide open :)

Comments

• PashPash Member Posts: 1,600 ■■■■■□□□□□
    I am sure we have one or two knocking about.

Hopefully they will pipe up soon!
    DevOps Engineer and Security Champion. https://blog.pash.by - I am trying to find my writing style, so please bear with me.
  • NightShade03NightShade03 Member Posts: 1,383 ■■■■■■■□□□
    Oh Oh Pick Me!! icon_cheers.gif

Seriously though I'm in the middle of publishing a book right now (just finishing up actually). Let me know what kind of info you are looking for...I'd be glad to answer any questions. (PM me if you don't want to ask publicly).
  • stupidboystupidboy Member Posts: 470
    Oh Oh Pick Me!! icon_cheers.gif

Seriously though I'm in the middle of publishing a book right now (just finishing up actually). Let me know what kind of info you are looking for...I'd be glad to answer any questions. (PM me if you don't want to ask publicly).

What subject are you writing about? What style of book (technical reference, exam prep)?

I have had an offer to write a book for a publisher which sounds like a great opportunity (so I would like to take it) but this is outside my comfort zone so I need to gather as much information as possible :) A couple of questions that come to mind (if you don't mind answering publicly)

Have you been pressured to deliver?
    How has it impacted your free time?
    Has it been worth it so far?
    stupidboy wrote: »
    What subject are you writing about? What style of book (technical reference, exam prep)?