Had it with servers

strauchrstrauchr Member Posts: 528 ■■■□□□□□□□
I've decided today that I want to change direction in my career path. I have been doing server admin, support, implementations for about 7 years now but I am just growing bored of it. I'm not saying I know it all but it is boring me.

I want to make the move to networking, real networking like Cisco. I have had a little bit of experience with Cisco switches and routers, have a very good knowledge of networking and a fair bit of experience with D-Link network products - I know thats its nothing like Cisco.

I am currently studying for the security exams to do my MCSE:Sec so I will probably finish that off first (got exam booked for this Sat) but then I'll go back to the CCNA which I started and stopped about 3 yeasr ago.

A pure comms job would be good, get into Pix firewalls, Voip, Wireless (already quite experienced without Cisco) and even SAN, which something else I'm interested in. A job that mixes both comms and server support/implentation would also suffice.

So other then this rant about me being bored I do actually have a question. With the toughness of todays market, considering I am fairly senior as it is now, how hard would it be to move from Servers to Networks given my certs and exp. And I'm not talking technically because I know I could handle that but I mean within companies. Maybe a combination job should slot me in quite good.

Questions - Anyone else get that feeling? Anyone in a job that does allow them to do both Networks and Servers and if so what size company?

Comments

• NoodsNoods Member Posts: 168
    A company that had a similar position with the need for those services is either going to be large, possibly an ISP, or have very many internal users. If I were you, I would find a way to see not only what jobs were open in those companies, but all jobs in those companies.
  • darkuserdarkuser Member Posts: 620 ■■■□□□□□□□