New guy going for CCIE

reaper81reaper81 Member Posts: 631
Hey everyone,

My name is Daniel, I'm a network engineer from Sweden. I'ven been lurking around for a while but decided to do some posting.
I work as a network engineer for a large company in Sweden, I am CCNP and CCDA certified and I'm also ENS no 4075. I decided
to start posting to get some help from other people studying for the CCIE and maybe some study partners. I run a blog located
at Daniels quest for CCIE, not updated too often but I try to update when I have some time. I have a fiancee and a son
so time is scarce as for many of you also studying.
I have done about 125 hours of studying so far, I'm studying for the written exam.

What would you say is a reasonable amount to study for the written exam?

How much time do you plan on spending or did you spend on labs before doing the lab?

I have bought the workbooks from INE but I'm not sure if to do Dynamips and real switches or to do rack rentals or maybe both.
Would you say Dynamips is sufficient for anything except switching, should I rent labs for everything?
The problem with rack rentals is the time difference to Sweden, usually a good time for me doesn't match up to the rack rental slots.
Also I find that 8 hours is way too long for the average session, 4 hours would be enough. Do you know a good rack rental that
supports INE except for INE themselves?
Daniel Dib
CCIE #37149

Comments

• mikej412mikej412 Member Posts: 10,086 ■■■■■■■■■■
    I spent a month reading the Cisco Press CCIE R&S Exam Certification Guide and a week going though the flash cards and practice questions on the Cisco Press CCIE R&S FlashCards and Exam Pack (don't think it's offered any more) and passed the exam without a problem.

But I also consider the time I spent studying for the CCDP ARCH exam and the CCIP QoS and BGP exams as CCIE R&S prep too.... so toss in a few more months there.

But after all my CCIE Lab Prep and Lab attempts, my 2nd R&S written exam was trivial.