Troubleshooting slownest on the network

amb1s1amb1s1 Member Posts: 408
This happened to me last thursday when I received a called stating that one of our branches were having problems with their network running slow. I ran an extended ping and must of the reply were getting fast replies, but ones in a while I would see the reply responce jumping from 19ms to over 800ms. i did the ip cache flow to see which pc was creating all the traffic. Now, I'm not an expert on ip cache flow because I was able to see one PC that had the hightes flow, but I didn't know thats was the problem since I'm not an expert. At the end of the day, everything went back to normal, but I didn't have any real answer to why it was running slow. Now my question is how would you guys handle this issue and which tools do you use? Don't try to resolve the problem that I had since the problem was resolve, but how would you handle this? Like always thanks
David G.
http://gomezd.com <
My Tshoot test Blog
http://twitter.com/ipnet255

Comments

• miller811miller811 Member Posts: 897
    amb1s1 wrote: »
    This happened to me last thursday when I received a called stating that one of our branches were having problems with their network running slow. I ran an extended ping and must of the reply were getting fast replies, but ones in a while I would see the reply responce jumping from 19ms to over 800ms. i did the ip cache flow to see which pc was creating all the traffic. Now, I'm not an expert on ip cache flow because I was able to see one PC that had the hightes flow, but I didn't know thats was the problem since I'm not an expert. At the end of the day, everything went back to normal, but I didn't have any real answer to why it was running slow. Now my question is how would you guys handle this issue and which tools do you use? Don't try to resolve the problem that I had since the problem was resolve, but how would you handle this? Like always thanks