Need advice on starting ITIL career...

faiz0802faiz0802 Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey guys,
My name is Faiz and I'm a Mechanical Engineer by degree, based in Hyderabad, India and have about 2 years of experience in sales and service in a company that deals with construction equipment, so leaving that field and jumping into IT Management may seem a little strange at this point, but it's intentional. I've always been interested in IT, and in management as well, so this seems like a very viable option at this point.

My main intention to start this thread is not to ask whether ITIL is right for me or not, I've already decided to write my foundations exams soon. What I need to know is where I should start once I get my foundations certificate and what I need to do. I stay in India and plan to stay here for a year or 2 and gain experience in an ITIL environment. The problem is that ITIL implementation is not very prominent here at this point of time and there aren't a lot of jobs for a fresher with only ITIL Foundations as certification. Either that or I don't know which companies are looking for people with ITIL certifications. What should I do once I'm done with my Foundations exam?

Should I:
1)Look for a job and start working, and work my way to the MALC exam through company sponsorship. Getting to the MALC exam through the company will take many many years I'm sure and that might be way too long for me. If so, any advice on where to start for jobs would be very helpful. It seems very frightening and unlikely to me that a foundations certificate alone can get me a job, though I may be very wrong in this regard.

2)Work my way up until my MALC exam and finish the entire ITIL V3 curriculum. And then look for jobs.

I have absolutely no IT certifications whatsoever, and I intend to stay in IT Management alone and do not intend to venture into software or hardware, because I already have experience in service management, although in a different field.