MCITP SA - which test should I attempt first?

daburrrninatordaburrrninator Registered Users Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
I have never worked on servers all of my experience has always been Desktop Support work. I have my A+, Net+ and MCDST. I've been in IT for about 10 years. I'm trying to figure out which test would be a good one to start with. I was thinking the 70-642 but I can't tell if that requires any knowledge from the 70-640, it doesnt look like it.

What would be a realistic goal for each of these tests? I can usually judge the study time I will need for every test fairly well but since I've never taken a server exam I wanted to set a realistic goal. I was thinking 2 or 3 months for the 70-642.

Comments

• LCALCA Member Posts: 215
    There's no right way with this. It's very much personal choice.

I sat 642 first but studied most of 640 at the same time. I studied for 3 months then did 642 and did 640 4 weeks later.

For me doing 642 first was what worked for me as it gave me a solid grounding on networking as it relates to the Wintel world. In the 640 exam I found Certificate Services to be a tough topic, the same applies to Group Policy.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

http://sqlsnapshots.blogspot.com/ - My SQL Server exam resources blog
  • earweedearweed Member Posts: 5,192 ■■■■■■■■■□
    I studied the 640 first and wish I would have done the 642 first. There isn't much overlap between the 2 (except for DNS) and you should be ok doing 642 first.
    It would be best, since you have no prior server experience, to have the 640 book handy when first starting to lab so you can look up how to do a few things covered in there.
    No longer work in IT. Play around with stuff sometimes still and fix stuff for friends and relatives.
  • HypntickHypntick Member Posts: 1,451 ■■■■■■□□□□