Should I wait for CCNP?

MonkerzMonkerz Member Posts: 842
I just got my CCNA and I am wanting to start up CCNP, but it has been suggested by my boss that I wait a year or so.

I can see where he is coming from, CCNP is just a piece of paper if I do not have the experience to back it up.

Long story short, I was an on-site support technician (basically help desk) for three years. Four months ago, a network engineer position came available within my company, which I applied for and landed the job. So I have 4 months experience in networking.

Do you think I should wait? The objectives I've see for CCNP:Route seem like they'd help me a lot when it comes to our enterprise network.

Maybe I should casually study for it and wait till I have some experience before taking the exams.

What do you think?

Comments

• shodownshodown Member Posts: 2,271
    Monkerz wrote: »
    I just got my CCNA and I am wanting to start up CCNP, but it has been suggested by my boss that I wait a year or so.

I can see where he is coming from, CCNP is just a piece of paper if I do not have the experience to back it up.

Long story short, I was an on-site support technician (basically help desk) for three years. Four months ago, a network engineer position came available within my company, which I applied for and landed the job. So I have 4 months experience in networking.

Do you think I should wait? The objectives I've see for CCNP:Route seem like they'd help me a lot when it comes to our enterprise network.

Maybe I should casually study for it and wait till I have some experience before taking the exams.

What do you think?

Go for it you may have kids or other things that may make it hard. Get that piece of paper. If you need to brush up before a new job comes along nothing is stopping you from opening up a book. Get it while u have the motivation. You see my CCIE counter seems to be stuck at 10. Things come outta nowhere sometimes to slow you down.
    Currently Reading