Is CISSP for me?

brownwrapbrownwrap Member Posts: 549
I took a brief look at the requirements for CISSP and I am not sure if I qualify. I have been a UNIX sys admin since '88. I spent the last five years of of previous job backing up huge amounts of satelite data, over 80 terabytes. I now have an SA job that requires security scans, and fixes, in addition to the typical SA work. I saw a job with the company, in a location I would prefer to be in, but it required a CISSP. I had thought about cets in Linux and Solaris, but maybe this is the route to go. Thanks.

Comments

• JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,023 Admin
    You should have several years of solid work experience in several of the CISSP CBK domains before taking the CISSP exam. The CISSP is more to the business and management side of InfoSec than technical. Look at the SSCP cert for technical InfoSec. But a lot of job reqs only recognize the CISSP, so many technical people are stuck having to go for it.
  • hustlin_moe20hustlin_moe20 Member Posts: 225
    brownwrap wrote: »
    I took a brief look at the requirements for CISSP and I am not sure if I qualify. I have been a UNIX sys admin since '88. I spent the last five years of of previous job backing up huge amounts of satelite data, over 80 terabytes. I now have an SA job that requires security scans, and fixes, in addition to the typical SA work. I saw a job with the company, in a location I would prefer to be in, but it required a CISSP. I had thought about cets in Linux and Solaris, but maybe this is the route to go. Thanks.

CISSP could be the way to go depending on if you're moving towards InfoSec as a career. If it's just a good IT job you're looking for, then it may not be what you want. It requires lots of upkeep to maintain the cert also. Not to mention the focus it takes to pass the exam.

Moe.
  • brownwrapbrownwrap Member Posts: 549
    JDMurray wrote: »