Career path changes

perfectgravityperfectgravity Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi everyone I just found this forum. It seems like a very good pace with lots of info and help.
Here is my story:
I got a bachelor degree in HR because I finished high school and still didn't know what I wanted to do. While I was doing this I got into Future Shop as seasonal sales person as just a way to make some extra money. I had the great fortune of having an amazing boss and long story short I got into the tech department there with no experience or certifications - i did however know pretty much everything just from my own tinkering around and fixing pcs.

So after I graduated I realized that HR was not for me and I should have gone on the IT path. My FS experience helped me land a low paying help desk job in a small company. After 1 year I am now at a big financial company help desk with great growth opportunities and I am starting to try to head for a systems admin type role.

I just completed both of the exams needed for A+, got 90% on them and they were super easy for me because of my experience.

My question is what should I be trying to go for next?

I was looking at server+/network+ as well as the MCITP courses.

I was planning on doing the MCITP 70-680 but from this form it seems really hard so maybe I should wait on that one :)

Thanks for any help you can provide.

Comments

• ibcritnibcritn Member Posts: 340

I was planning on doing the MCITP 70-680 but from this form it seems really hard so maybe I should wait on that one :)

Network+ is the next logical step for CompTIA certs. I have never seen any noise made about Server+, so I would skip it.

If I were you I would rub some elbows with the Admins and ask them what certifications are valued for your company (Microsoft, Cisco, etc) In the meantime studying for Network+ would certainly help you.