Passed the A+ today!

bishunbishun Member Posts: 33 ■■□□□□□□□□
I know it's nothing to brag about, but it still feels good. Maybe I will try to get Network+ done before the end of the year...

220-701: 864
220-702: 881

I had plenty of real world experience coming into this, but...

For those just starting out I studied with Mike Meyers' "CompTIA A+ Certification All-in-One Exam Guide, Seventh Edition" with some free practice tests and Google to supplement. icon_thumright.gif

Comments

• rogue2shadowrogue2shadow Member Posts: 1,501 ■■■■■■■■□□
    bishun wrote: »
    Maybe it's nothing to brag about, but it still feels good. Maybe I will try to get Network+ before the end of the year...

I had plenty of experience coming into this, but...

For those just starting out I studied with Mike Meyers' "CompTIA A+ Certification All-in-One Exam Guide, Seventh Edition" with practice tests and Google to supplement. icon_thumright.gif

Congrats man!!!! I may be a little biased but I would grab the security+ instead if you have the time. It has DoD 8570 implications as well as rounds out your skill base. Net+ content, to some degree, is covered in the Sec+ curriculum but was made to be served as a refresher to the Net+ (aka it builds on the Net+ content).

This book is the rave of the forum:

Amazon.com: CompTIA Security+: Get Certified Get Ahead: SY0-201 Study Guide (9781439236369): Darril Gibson: Books

You can also get it for Kindle. This book (along with exp, and research) has been key to a lot of successes here.
  • bishunbishun Member Posts: 33 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Thanks for the advice, and especially the book recommendation. That has an incredible rating for 85 reviews on Amazon.

How much does the Security+ build upon base networking knowledge? Nothing on the Network+ is going to be earth shattering to me, but my real world experience with large networks is next to nothing.
  • rogue2shadowrogue2shadow Member Posts: 1,501 ■■■■■■■■□□