Options

Deployment failing - log locations?

I'm trying to fumble my way through learning MDT 2010 since they guy who set it up is out of town until next Wednesday. I understand the basic concepts, but I'm not experienced with it by any means.

The problem I'm having is that deployment is failing on some PCs but not others. I have one desktop that will image just fine everytime. But I have a couple others that error out. They make it through the initial stage where it says installing operating system, injecting drivers, applying image, etc. Then when it reboots into PE the second time it errors out saying it can't map a drive to the deployment share/network name cannot be found.

Why would it perform the first half of the deployment and then say it can't find the share after reboot? And why on some PCs but not others? I've been googling for logs to check but haven't found any with useful info. Are there any you would suggest checking?
CISSP | CCNA:R&S/Security | MCSA 2003 | A+ S+ | VCP6-DTM | CCA-V CCP-V

Comments

• Options
    BADfish10BADfish10 Member Posts: 88 ■■□□□□□□□□
    xenodamus wrote: »
    I'm trying to fumble my way through learning MDT 2010 since they guy who set it up is out of town until next Wednesday. I understand the basic concepts, but I'm not experienced with it by any means.

The problem I'm having is that deployment is failing on some PCs but not others. I have one desktop that will image just fine everytime. But I have a couple others that error out. They make it through the initial stage where it says installing operating system, injecting drivers, applying image, etc. Then when it reboots into PE the second time it errors out saying it can't map a drive to the deployment share/network name cannot be found.