Is less more?

N2ITN2IT Inactive Imported Users Posts: 7,483 ■■■■■■■■■■
I noticed on this forum that there are some members who really go all out and collect a mass amount of certifications in a relatively short period of time. Can/Is this counter productive? I guess there are some people with a redonkulous memory, but most people are the mean. Would it benefit someone to focus on one or two certifications, (technologies or processes)?

It seems to me that focusing on one or two technologies per year can really give you a lot of time to intimately understand and learn the technologies and/or processes. Also gives you time to put it into practice to reinforce the theory and technology.

I understand that some certifications are easy for people because of their experience. Example A+. I studied maybe 2 weeks and watched Messer. But most certifications in my opinion require quite a bit of thought and energy. Is it realistic to get 10 certs in one year and be very effective with that technlology?

In closing I would like to say that each situation has it's own identity so I am not directing this at one person. This is more of a theory that I was thinking about just now. Thoughts?

Comments

• rwmidlrwmidl Member Posts: 807 ■■■■■■□□□□
    For me it's easier to knock out a few in a row because I get some momentum going. Example the MCITP track. For the EA that is 5 tests. I think it would be easier to knock them all out in a row within a short period of time if possible - if for anything because of the number of tests needed. But I see what you are saying.
    CISSP | CISM | ACSS | ACIS | MCSA:2008 | MCITP:SA | MCSE:Security | MCSA:Security | Security + | MCTS
  • ibcritnibcritn Member Posts: 340
    I think that picking a specialization is a great idea. I think if you were to certify in many different that your logic would make sense. If you say get 3-4 certifications all in one area well you might just be getting deeper knowledge on the same topic.