Advice on cert

impzimpz Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 113 ■■■□□□□□□□
After I graduated from high school, I decided to get my A+/Net+/Sec+ certs since I used to literally waste my time in school and I thought that it was time to stop playing the fool and get serious. I managed with get those 3 certs under the guidance/suggestions of techexams forum members ( yes I was a lurker ) but now, I'm lost as to how I should proceed.

Basically I was planning to do the CCNA exams for 2011 but I wondered if it made any sense for me to do it now. From what I know, you need to renew your CCNA cert every 3 years and currently, I'm pursuing a Bsc. in Information Technology in my local community college which won't be done until 3 more years. Now, I probably won't find a work until I complete this degree because where I am living, you can't really find a work with just Comptia certs and on top of that I'm 17 - under the working age of 18. With that said, if I do my CCNA now, it will probably expire by the time I'm 20 years old just when I'm about to acquire my IT degree.

So the question is: should pursue for my CCNA cert or wait until I finish my studies in college? I would also like to know what other certs I could look at while I'm pursuing my degree (was looking at SSCP/CEH/CISSP/Microsoft certs/GIAC/Linux+/ITIL)

Comments

• ibcritnibcritn Member Posts: 340
    impz wrote: »
    After I graduated from high school, I decided to get my A+/Net+/Sec+ certs since I used to literally waste my time in school and I thought that it was time to stop playing the fool and get serious. I managed with get those 3 certs under the guidance/suggestions of techexams forum members ( yes I was a lurker ) but now, I'm lost as to how I should proceed.