Getting first IT job without related experience: How?

Pratt2Pratt2 Member Posts: 66 ■■□□□□□□□□
I am jumping into IT as a second career. I went to law school because, well, I wanted those Benjamins, but I really just can't stand it and being depressed is not how I'd like to live my life. To add insult to injury I'm not making bank either.

So here I am in NYC with a J.D., 3 years of crappy contract legal positions on my resume, A+ and Net+. I have zero professional IT experience. If I could avoid desktop support I'd be a happy man. My realistic ideal position would be as an entry network admin.

The real problem is drafting a resume that has something on it. Should I include my legal work? Should I just not mention the J.D.? Would it be better for me to have a huge black hole in my timeline than fill it with my 3 years of law school? I have been sending out one of several resume versions with varying emphasis on my legal education/experience depending on what job I'm applying for but have yet to even receive one rejection letter. What's really frustrating is "entry level" jobs requiring 3 years of relevant experience. Seriously? Sigh...

Anyway, if anyone out there has successfully transitioned into IT from a completely unrelated field and/or with a completely unrelated graduate-level degree, I'd be interested to hear your story.

Comments

• Mike-MikeMike-Mike Member Posts: 1,860
    i can't imagine you would jump right into a net admin position..... but maybe it's possible...

and I also can't imagine going to Law School ever being a bad thing to put on a resume...
    Currently Working On

CWTS, then WireShark
  • Pratt2Pratt2 Member Posts: 66 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Mike-Mike wrote: »
    i can't imagine you would jump right into a net admin position..... but maybe it's possible...

and I also can't imagine going to Law School ever being a bad thing to put on a resume...

Thanks for the reply. Maybe I should change "entry" to "assistant."