Options

Does my resume suck?

I am not that experienced and just starting out in my career. Also, I never finished college so I know the education section is a bit lacking. Any suggestions would be welcome. Is the layout OK? Do I need to be more specific with my job descriptions?

What kind of position could I expect to move up to if I earned a CCNA to go along with my MCSA? I think around early 2012 I will start looking at what opportunites are out there. Could I shoot for Desktop Support? Maybe Junior Admin?

Please lay into me. Don't be afraid. :D

Comments

• Options
    tbgree00tbgree00 Member Posts: 553 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I just went through the job hunt so some advice that would be relevant. You list the MCSA but don't seem to have any server experience. Be prepared to answer questions about that. If it is lab experience or in class that is a good enough explanation. Also remember to write your resume for the job. If you are applying for a windows job put that in there as much as possible.
    I finally started that blog - www.thomgreene.com
  • Options
    mikej412mikej412 Member Posts: 10,086 ■■■■■■■■■■
    List your most recent education first. If you've got college most people will assume you have graduated high school (or at least got a GED). Maybe lead with your Certifications since you said you didn't graduate from college -- that gets your MCSA out there sooner and may keep someone reading your resume longer.

Unless your Microsoft and CompTIA IDs can be used for certification verification, they are just taking up space -- eh, so leave 'em in until you have something else to use that space.

What did you do between college and that first job you have listed? A gap leaves the person reading your resume to wonder if you spent time in jail for grand theft auto -- or if you spent that time playing grand theft auto. icon_lol.gif