Complete Newb, Setting up a home lab (CCNA)

MercfhMercfh Member Posts: 9 ■□□□□□□□□□
SO I am an utter newb when it comes to networking, however I have taken a great interest in it. Incoming wall of text.....

Anyways I have a pretty extensive programming/hardware background (just graduated literally 5 days ago with my B.S. in Computer Science)

Programming however....isn't really where my passion lies.....Hardware was my main love. ANYWAYS thats why im here since im going to start preparing for my CCNA in the next couple of months (Im giving myself a 3 month study time frame) Im also taking it in the 2 exam section (CCENT first(ICND1)---->CCNA(ICND2) later, so ideally the hardware will need to be A-OK for both

My materials are:
CBT Nuggets (for ICND1 and 2)
Wendells ICND1 Study Guide
Sybex CCENT (ICND1)
and Sybex's CCNA (640-802)
and Both Press books from Cisco (for both exams)

So I feel my "reading/watching" material is sufficient, however Being a complete nub at this stuff, having a home lab will be important. (Also I DO want the experience, not just the certification)

So I've read alot of different sites, but Im still fairly confused at what I really need.

I have 2 computers (a REALLY nice desktop with Windows 7/Unix) and a Laptop (With Windows Server 2008/Unix/Vista)

Both have Serial Ports, but as far as routers/switches what do I need....I'd like to keep it under 400$ IF possible....
I've heard 2 routers and 3 switches....But I also have no clue about Cisco's ISO.....or w/e.....Like do you have to pay for that......or how do I know which one to use. Also keep in mind when your talking about stuff like Flash Memory/and ISO's I really dont know what that is so you'll have to explain a little bit. And what I need to watch out for if i decide to look on ebay/craigslist.

Also I will need to know what/how many cables etc as well.

Btw is 2 computers enough to test this stuff for CCNA? I can always borrow another laptop if needed.

ANY help is appreciated