Options

70-642 Exam

Jybfan04Jybfan04 Member Posts: 8 ■■■□□□□□□□
I passed my 70-680 back in July and have been studying for the 70-642 off and on since then. I have a few questions as I have recently found out that the exam now covers 2008 R2 now. What are the difference between Server 2008 and Server 2008 R2? I am studying for my MCITP - SA and then to move on to my EA since I have my 680 out of the way. My study materials are the following:

Preplogic
Microsoft MCITP-SA Press Books
Techexams.net stickies and notes

I haven't really started labing but here is what my old setup consisted of:

Lenovo Windows 7 Laptop
1.8 GHZ processor (single core icon_sad.gif)
250gb HD
Virtual Box with 2 Windows 2008 Server, XP, Ubuntu

I am planning to delete the installations of Windows 2008 and upgrading to 2008 R2, but I also want to know what changes came with R2.

Thanks

Comments

• Options
    HypntickHypntick Member Posts: 1,451 ■■■■■■□□□□
    What's New: Changes in Functionality from Windows Server 2008 to Windows Server 2008 R2

Enjoy icon_lol.gif - Aside from technet I don't know if there are any other sources that go over R2 in any depth. At least not yet.
    WGU BS:IT Completed June 30th 2012.
    WGU MS:ISA Completed October 30th 2013.
  • Options
    Thanks, I have another question...

What is the recommended lab setup for the 70-642 exam? What services should I install and setup and how many servers?
  • Options
    ZentraediZentraedi Member Posts: 150
    Read up on all the new DNS stuff. Especially, DNSSEC.

Also, don't be surprised if you find several questions on exam taken verbatim from the practice set included with the MS Press 70-642 Training Kit.
    Current Study Track
    EMCCA, EMCCAe, EMCCE, VCIX-NV, Puppet Practitioner, ServiceNow
  • Options
    If i'm consistently passing the Microsoft press exam should I go ahead and schedule to take the exam? What should I use to gauge if i'm ready to take the exam?
  • Options
    LCALCA Member Posts: 215