Just want to vent... :( (New renewal rules)

MirthMirth Member Posts: 32 ■■□□□□□□□□
Ugh... I've been in school for what seems like forever trying to get my Bachelor's in Information Engineering Technology... I have ONE class left this semester before I graduate, and I feel like I haven't learned anything besides basic programming (C, C+, Java), and know I don't wanna be a programmer. But onto why I'm here...

I was planning to take my A+ Certification in the Fall of 2010. I started studying in October, while taking 4 classes and working full-time (Not computer-related), and then I lost my job, and long story-short, I don't get unemployment pay. For this and many other reasons, I had to stop studying for the A+ and focus on getting my life straightened out; the exams will always be there for me to take, I thought.

Tonight, I was ready to start studying again and take my A+ certification in the next month or two since my life is on a better track. While looking for what is the best study material, I found out that the A+ is no longer a lifetime certificate and must be renewed every 3 years for it to hold.

My heart dropped. I just cannot believe this... I can't believe I could have had the opportunity to have a lifetime certificate, and now it's gone... Knowing that people who could have taken it 16 years ago and don't have to ever take it again, that they can just put on their job application, or even better yet, their own PC repair company "A+ Certified" makes me incredibly upset that I will have to keep retaking it every 3 years or take the education course...

I'm so frustrated and infuriated, that I've decided I'm not even going to bother with it. Thank you CompTIA for making my life all that much harder...

Comments

• SteveO86SteveO86 Member Posts: 1,423
    I really would not worry about it too much. Many Certs expire, or become pretty irrelevant after so many years.