Options

Need Certification Advice

BascotieBascotie Member Posts: 15 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi guys,

Just a little background on me first.. I've been working in IT for over 3 years but still haven't gotten my hands as dirty as I'd like to. I'd say I'm very good at general troubleshooting and repair and I like networking but didn't get to deal with servers as much as I would have liked to as an intern.

I am starting a new job which is more of a support job for the employees but am already thinking about my future in IT.

Currently, I am training for the CCNA. I'm about half way through Todd Lammle's book but feel like I still need something else.. something more "Windows" related.

What is the best certification/training/whatever to prepare myself for becoming an IT Administrator managing Windows Machines/ RAID arrays/ Switches/ Routers and so on?

Also, if anyone suggests another path I should take, please feel free to give your input. Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    cisco_certscisco_certs Member Posts: 119
    Experience first.

If you go router and switches then and you are learning CCNA then follow this steps:

1. CCNA
    2. CCNP
    3. CCIP
    4. CCIE

If its windows:
    MCITP: Enterprise admin
  • Options
    PsoasmanPsoasman Member Posts: 2,687 ■■■■■■■■■□
    If you are looking more on the systems side of things and are starting a job dealing with desktop support, you might start with the 680 or 685 exams, depending on how much Win7 experience you have.
    If you are more interested in learning about router and switches, then stick with the CCNA training.
    It's a wide open field in IT, but reading your post, it sounds like you are more interested in working the desktop support /systems administrator side of things.
  • Options
    ^ that.

Usually Windows Admin are different from a Network Admin/engineer.
    You're comparing AD/server VS network operations.

Study what you're interested in or whatever your job let you play around with.
  • Options