70-640 Scheduled

Taking this March 5th, i've been studying off an on for the past two months now. Having trouble finding time / energy. I have gone through about half of CBT Nuggets Videos(taking notes and labbing) as well as read through the entire Sybex book (did all practice tests, highlighted key points throughout book and wrote these out for future reference). Still dont feel prepared, I can answer questions but if asked to perform tasks in Windows Server i'd probably get lost, need more lab time to connect theory with real world.

I do want to point out that Microsoft has a great promotion going on right now for college students. icon_smile.gif

Save 55% on the exam + receive 1 free re-take.

Student Certification Exams | Special Offers | Microsoft Certification

So I got the exam for $60 w/ a free re-take, just have to show student ID. Great deal, check it out :)

Wish me luck. icon_cheers.gif
Currently studying for:
MCTS 70-642 Network Infrastructure

Comments

• ZentraediZentraedi Member Posts: 150
    Good luck! Just took the 70-640 today and I'd say the Sybex book just isn't enough. AD LDS, RMS and FS coverage were a joke.

The MS Toolkit Press Book was better. It simply had more detail and examples of important commands.

Still, I've got to say the most enlightening resources were the Active Directory 2008 Resource Kit and the MS Press "PKI and Certificate Security" book.

Anyway, make sure you know about the the R2 features. If I hadn't already done the 70-680 material, I would have totally been caught off guard.
    Current Study Track
    EMCCA, EMCCAe, EMCCE, VCIX-NV, Puppet Practitioner, ServiceNow
  • ITVinceITVince Member Posts: 143