Options

What to take next?

dtli919dtli919 Registered Users Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
Seeing how great this forum community is, I was wondering if anyone can give me some friendly advice.

I'm considering going into the IT field since I love IT in general. However, my major in college and grad school has nothing to do with IT and I have no real IT experience. In the past month I've acquired my CompTIA A+, Network+ and Security+ and was thinking what might be the next logical step to take. So for example, if my goal is to become a system admin, what are some of the required certifications I need?

I'm also considering taking Server+ just to get the main CompTIA certs out the way, but will that help me at all? Would Cisco or Microsoft certs be more valued?

I'd greatly appreciate any advice you gurus can offer. :D

Comments

• Options
    bparsonsbparsons Registered Users Posts: 9 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Interested in the seeing the responses you receive.....I'm in a similar boat....some personal experience, but no related degree or work experience.
  • Options
    Repo ManRepo Man Member Posts: 300
    My opinion would be to leave the CompTIA exams (besides Linux+/LPIC if that floats your boat). You already have enough certs for an entry level gig. Decide if you like systems or networking more and start your path with either CCENT or MS 70-680.
  • Options
    N2ITN2IT Inactive Imported Users Posts: 7,483 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Repo Man wrote: »
    My opinion would be to leave the CompTIA exams (besides Linux+/LPIC if that floats your boat). You already have enough certs for an entry level gig. Decide if you like systems or networking more and start your path with either CCENT or MS 70-680.

I like this tactic. I personally would go with the 70-680, there are going to be a lot of jobs that you can use these skills in. In the next few years there will be a lot of deployments with Windows 7.
  • Options
    veritas_libertasveritas_libertas Member Posts: 5,746 ■■■■■■■■■■