Options

CompTIA Certs worth it?

bparsonsbparsons Registered Users Posts: 9 ■□□□□□□□□□
Well, I should say worth it in my situation? I'm just starting down the certification path and I've heard/read that CompTIA's are a good place to start. Seems like I was about 6 months too late, though. I guess they used to be lifetime certs (which validates the price), but now they're only good for 3 years. That's all fine and dandy, but the price tag attached to each???.....WOW! A+ requires two tests at 173 each....$346 for it! Net and Sec are up in the 200s themselves.

I'm just wondering, with all your experience and knowlege, is it worth getting these? I think it is...especially since I'm just starting out. If you've read my other posts I've been all over about where I want to go, but I think I've decided on network/security as my main focus....looking at doing the three CompTIAs, then probably some Cisco (CCENT, CCNA, CCNA Security, CCNP, etc, etc). Thanks again....love this forum!!!

Comments

• Options
    Ryan82Ryan82 Member Posts: 428
    In general I say they are overpriced and unless your position requires it, skip them. Thats not to say that the material contained within the curriculum is a waste of time, just taking the actual exam. My 2 cents
  • Options
    demonfurbiedemonfurbie Member Posts: 1,819
    i would get sec+ and skip the others

cisco stuff covers the net+ stuff better

a+ is really just hardware and it doesnt look like your interested in that

however if you do plan do get a DoD job they are required
    wgu undergrad: done ... woot!!
    WGU MS IT Management: done ... double woot :cheers:
  • Options
    badboyeeebadboyeee Member Posts: 348
    bparsons wrote: »
    I'm just wondering, with all your experience and knowlege, is it worth getting these? I think it is...especially since I'm just starting out.

hmm so zero IT experience & education?? any courses taken??
    2011 Certification Plans so far:
    [Cisco: CCENT (ICND1)-> CCNA (ICND2)]