Options

CCENT vs. Network+

IUgrad505IUgrad505 Member Posts: 13 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey all,

I'm new here but I've posted a few general questions and gotten some great advice about how to start an IT career. I'm studying for the CompTIA A+ exams so I have a good starting point, but I'm wondering about the CCENT. My real interest is security eventually - but Network+ and Security+ recommend the A+, which is why I'm getting it.

I figure I'll probably focus on Cisco not Microsoft when I finish those 3, but I'm wondering if I can take the CCENT without having the A+ yet. If so, I can start looking at that at the same time. I do have a decent basic knowledge of networking, but not in-depth and I have no real IT experience. Would a CCENT be more help in getting an entry-level job than just A+?

Thanks for any advice anyone has!

Comments

• Options
    cisco_nerdcisco_nerd Member Posts: 198
    Hi, welcome to TE.

If your interest is in network security, then i would skip the A+ personally.. (my goals are the same). As you may have already noticed, the A+ is all about computers and troubleshooting them, not so much networks.

If you don't have a strong background in IT or networking in general, you can start with Net+ and then go to CCNA, as from as far as I can tell the CCENT and Net+ are fairly similar, although CCENT is more CISCO based of course, where the Net+ is very broad. You will get things in Net+ that wont be present in CCENT/CCNA and vice versa.

Its not to say that the Net+ is not worth it, once you have done that, you will be in a very good place for CCENT/CCNA thats for sure, and with minimal IT experiance it may pay off to start with the Net+.