Advice on IT Management Track

CamtheChampCamtheChamp Member Posts: 15 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi all, a little about my self, I recently graduated with my B.A. in Marketing and I am currently pursuing my MBA and will graduate in either May 2012 or August 2012 at the University of Central Florida.

On the IT side, I have 2 years experience tutoring in a college computer lab (helping with the office suite and basic C++ programming). I am also now nearing 3 years experience in a deskside support role for a large organization and have transitioned to a remote support role which involves working from home. I currently have my A+ and Network+ certs and I am studying for the 70-680 exam (configuring windows 7).

My goal at this point is to get into a management position in the IT field. I would like to set myself up to be a prime candidate when I graduate with my MBA in a year and a half.

My thought process right now is to get my MCITP:EA by the time I graduate. Obviously I don't have a ton of time since I am full time work and school so I have to pick what I want to spend my time on now if I plan to finish it before I graduate. While browsing this board, I have noticed a significant amount of dicussion on ITIL and PMP. Are these something that I should concentrate on instead of the technical side? Or would you suggest a different track all together given my experience/education?

Any input is appreciated, thanks!

Comments

• eMeSeMeS Member Posts: 1,875 ■■■■■■■■■□
    First, welcome to TE.

The first bit of advice that I'll give you is to take what you read in these forums with a huge grain of salt. There are many people who have lots of thoughts about what it takes to get into management, but the majority of those people haven't actually worked as managers. Their hearts are in the right place, and you'll find them to be a helpful bunch.