Contemplating CWTS.. and CWNA later on.

SteveO86SteveO86 Member Posts: 1,423
I was wondering how tough the CWNP exams stack up compared to Cisco/Microsoft exams.. (Where as Cisco has Sims/Simlets/Drag & drog/ no going back to previous questions, and Microsoft exams are much more laid back)

I've been working with Wi-Fi technologies for a few years now, initially with a bunch of older Proxim Autonomous AP's, which I am currently migrating to CUWN, with AP1252's and WLC 2100's. (migration is almost complete thank god!)

I've passed the CCNA: Wireless some time ago, but that exam seemed focused on Cisco technology compared to the Wi-Fi technology itself (Antennas, RF, A/H planes, and so forth.)

So I'm currently shifting around for some study guides...
My Networking blog
Latest blog post: Let's review EIGRP Named Mode
Currently Studying: CCNP: Wireless - IUWMS

Comments

• steve13adsteve13ad Member Posts: 398 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I took the CWTS earlier in the year and was very underwhelmed with it. It's a very basic, entry level test.

Looking at your certs, you could probably just skip the CWTS and start on the CWNA
  • SteveO86SteveO86 Member Posts: 1,423
    So I could actually skip the CWTS and jump right into CWNA. You can tell I use to Cisco with certification levels.

I have been looking through the objections and it does seem fairly basic, I've looked at the CBT Nugget video for the CWTS and it really isn't anything new or advanced. I'll check the CWNA material.

Thanks for your input!
    My Networking blog
  • NorbieNorbie Member Posts: 105
    SteveO86 wrote: »
    So I could actually skip the CWTS and jump right into CWNA. You can tell I use to Cisco with certification levels.

I have been looking through the objections and it does seem fairly basic, I've looked at the CBT Nugget video for the CWTS and it really isn't anything new or advanced. I'll check the CWNA material.

Thanks for your input!