Anyone self taught a foreign language?

Mike-MikeMike-Mike Member Posts: 1,860
Anyone used a book or computer software to successfully teach themselves a foreign language? not just the basics, but fluency?
Currently Working On

CWTS, then WireShark

Comments

• undomielundomiel Member Posts: 2,818
    Currently in the process of doing that. Both my wife and I are working on Japanese and we're using a book, a couple of sites, and Anki for going through flashcards. We also listen to lots of Japanese podcasts and such. We're nowhere near fluency currently but we'll get there eventually. Just have to keep working at it. I don't forsee myself ever signing up for a formalized Japanese course.
    Jumping on the IT blogging band wagon -- http://www.jefferyland.com/
  • varelgvarelg Banned Posts: 790
    Yes, spanish. Although not without help from native speakers. But sticking just by help from native speakers won't get you to fluency. I had to eventually sit down and study from a book, write homework, exercises etc.
    I haven't used software for that purpose but I believe you can achieve a level beyond basic short of complete fluency. For that you'd have to visit that language's nation of origin and live there for a while.
  • NightShade03NightShade03 Member Posts: 1,383 ■■■■■■■□□□
    I am working on this too. For me it's French. I use a few websites and I bought a few French novels that I have read through. translate.google.com is good for listening to how things are pronounced as well. The fiancée is a few levels ahead of me in French, but her mom is a French teacher...so that helps too.
  • chrisonechrisone Member Posts: 2,278 ■■■■■■■■■□
    undomiel wrote: »