Should I be concerned if my community college doesn't have a hardware or A+ class?

heideggerheidegger Member Posts: 22 ■□□□□□□□□□
My major is systems support/help desk. The community college only offers operating systems classes and networking classes. I'm afraid employers will think I don't have enough hardware training.

Comments

• MentholMooseMentholMoose Member Posts: 1,525 ■■■■■■■■□□
    It's fine, you can always get the A+ on your own.
    MentholMoose
    MCSA 2003, LFCS, LFCE (expired), VCP6-DCV
  • SlowhandSlowhand Mod Posts: 5,161 Mod
    It's a little odd that a school that offers a major in systems support and helpdesk doesn't offer A+ classes. However, there's nothing stopping you from self-studying and either taking the cert or simply obtaining the hardware knowledge.

Free Microsoft Training: Microsoft Learn
    Free PowerShell Resources: Top PowerShell Blogs
    Free DevOps/Azure Resources: Visual Studio Dev Essentials

Let it never be said that I didn't do the very least I could do.
  • Daniel333Daniel333 Member Posts: 2,077 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Yes, most colleges suck.

But more importantly you need to focus on the self teaching skills. IT at the end of the day is a hack through it sort of thing and the sooner you develop those skills the better.
    -Daniel
  • drew726drew726 Member Posts: 237
    Nah, you're better off learning it yourself anyways. Not worth paying for a class like that when you probably already know 75% of the material assuming you've ever build a computer for yourself. Just get a used book.
    Completed Courses:
    SSC1, SST1, AXV1, TTV1, ABV1, TNV1, AHV1, BAC1, BBC1, LAE1, LUT1, GAC1, IWC1, INC1, HHT1, LAT1, QLT1, CLC1, IWT1 TPV1, INT1, TSV1, LET1, BOV1, AJV1, ORC1, MGC1, BRV1, AIV1, WFV1,
    TWA1, CPW2
    Incompleted Courses:
    nothing :)
  • Dakinggamer87Dakinggamer87 Member Posts: 4,016 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I would just self-study and go for it as others have mentioned. icon_cool.gif