Options

Looking for some guidance

Hello all,

Let me start by saying I found this site a few weeks ago while scouring the web for study resources and have honestly been on here reading every day since. It's really great to have a resource like this to learn from. A little about myself:

I'm 24, and I want to be an IT professional. I graduate high school in 2004 and went straight to university at University of Texas at Arlington, graduating in 2008 with my B.S. in Pschology (I know, I know). I was always that kid who breezed through school (graduated valedictorian in high school, 3.9 GPA when I graduated college), and had never really put a lot of thought into what I wanted to be when I grew up. I though I wanted to be a therapist, but realized a little too late that the field of psychology can be kind of a joke. By the time I realized this, I was one semester out from graduating, so I decided to just finish my degree instead of changing majors and taking another 1.5 years to get out. This turned out to be a questionable decision, because a B.S. in Psychology is not very marketable.

After a period of job searching after college, I decided to go back to school for IT. Computers have always been an interest of mine, but for some reason I never really got to thinking about them as a career path. I work as a server, and while I do make decent money, I didn't have the money to go back to a 4-year university (even public university at this point is 4 grand a semester), so I go to the local community college and am pursuing an A.A.S. in Network Security, as well as some of my entry-level certs (A+, N+, S+, and CCENT currently). My community college offers a 4-part Cisco class, so I am currently taking that, and have taken some courses on UNIX administration and various security classes. I also have a small home lab setup, including my own web server and SQL box.

Now that you know a bit about myself, I would like to pick your brains on some things: