Passed the CISSP Test

core22core22 Member Posts: 27 ■□□□□□□□□□
"Congratulations! It gives me great pleasure to inform you that you have passed the (ISC)2 credential examination and are now an Associate of (ISC)2."

icon_cheers.gificon_cheers.gificon_cheers.gif

I took the test on 2/20 and just found out an hour ago so it ended up taking me 18 days. I have a little over 3 years of solid applicable experience and I'm just a 3 classes away from graduating Drexel with a BS in InfoSec. Hopefully I'll have everything wrapped up by the end of the year for the full CISSP designation.

Corey
CISSP | GPEN | GWAPT | GCIH | CEH | CHFI | Security+
BS - InfoSec, Drexel University - Summa Cum Laude

Comments

• rwmidlrwmidl Member Posts: 807 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Congrats on the pass!

What did you use to prep/how long did you take to study and prepare for the exam?
    CISSP | CISM | ACSS | ACIS | MCSA:2008 | MCITP:SA | MCSE:Security | MCSA:Security | Security + | MCTS
  • core22core22 Member Posts: 27 ■□□□□□□□□□
    For books I used the AIO 4th & 5th editions, as well as the Krutz & Vines book. I found that prior attainment of the Sec+ helped a lot as well, as there is a lot of overlap. For classes I went back to school for IT Security (mid-career change, IT to InfoSec) and my Drexel classes definitely helped out the most. When I finally decided to sit for the exam my company offered to send me for training, so I went with TrainingCamp.com and that helped the most regarding the mindset needed for many of the questions. Hard to say how long I prepared because pretty much all of it was taught at Drexel, so 3 years of class participation, homework, papers, and midterm/finals was probably 90% my study. TrainingCamp helped but it didn't teach anything new that wasn't covered in the books. What it did do was change my thinking from my experiences to global experiences and a management point of view.
  • JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,023 Admin