Wasting switch ports

net_nomadnet_nomad Member Posts: 15 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi

i've got a design related question.

I've recently took over a network and im no design expert but something about it bothers me, specifically:

we are using 4 x 24 port switches that have 2 fiber ports on each. The only port being used are the fiber ports to connect to a fiber patch panel and copper to connect to the core network

all four are connected to the same network and they are basically being used as media converters. there is no redundancy between or any other reason except to act as a media converter, which seems like a waste to me.

I suggested to the senior network guy that we use media converters and utilize the copper ports on a single switch, he always says "media converters are unreliable" and he has basically convinced this fact to the manager.

I've tried arguing:
Lets buy reliable media converters, they cannot be more expensive than 4 poe switches. but i keep getting shut down.

I would like to present some hard data to management e.g media converter XYZ has a MTTF (Mean time to failure) of X amount of time or it has this many 9s of reliability.

what would you advise ?

Comments

• stuh84stuh84 Member Posts: 503
    Unfortunately I agree with him. Media converters have been the bane of my existence many a time. At least if there is a manageable entity which can be troubleshooted, rather than a random "black box" in the middle which all you can do when it breaks is buy another and hope it doesn't go bad, you can get some idea as to what the problem is.

It's like adding another cable in, how do you know which cable has gone bad if you have 10 in a row all connected together?
    Work In Progress: CCIE R&S Written

CCIE Progress - Hours reading - 15, hours labbing - 1
  • veritas_libertasveritas_libertas Member Posts: 5,746 ■■■■■■■■■■