New Job Transition

PilotrebornPilotreborn Member Posts: 48 ■■□□□□□□□□
So Im currently enrolled in WGU and I work as a tier 1 technical support for a hotspot development company and I troubleshoot a variety of end users on wired and wireless networks in a call center making $13.50 an hour.

I have about 3 years experience working part time and during the summers in SEO. At my current job the Director of Operations sent out an email askign if anyone had experience with that and they were looking internally for someone to fill the position. So long story short I went through various interviews and meetings and they want me to take the position. I will be working for 1 month full time on a trial basis to see if I add value to the company and if im a good fit. Then I will move into the position permanently.

From the research that I have done "entry" level positions working in house for this postion start off making 40-45k a year. This would be a big increase from what I am making now.

What I am concerned with is a couple things, if this will be moving my overall career in the right direction or if this will be moving me indirectly out of the IT field more into marketing, which isnt particulary what I want to do in the long run. And if they will pay me what the industry dictates which is the 40-45k entry level, which I would think since I have some experience should be 50kish. I am a little worried they might try to low ball since im making so much less than what that position is worth currently.

So any input you guys have would be greatly appreciated, I follow the forum regularly and always appreciate your insight.

Regards,

Comments

• EssendonEssendon Member Posts: 4,546 ■■■■■■■■■■