More Money or More Tech??

pham0329pham0329 Member Posts: 556
I'm currently a system engineer for a small import/export company, that's also in the managed service business. I manage about 6 servers internally, and our client's network as well.

I was recently offered a Network Admin position for a pretty well known company. I would be supporting 30+ servers, including Exchange, SCCM, SCOM, Hyper-Vs, Cisco CallManager. ALthough the position will be focused on Microsoft's side of things, I can expand into the Cisco side if I wanted to.

Now, the hard part. The new job is a pay increase from the old job, however, my current employer made a counter-offer of 10k more than what the new job is offering. I've been thinking about this all weekend and still can't decide what I want to do. Any inputs would be appreciated.

Comments

• powerfoolpowerfool Member Posts: 1,665 ■■■■■■■■□□
    My policy has always been to reject counter offers, always. That being said, I did it once because I really wanted to stay at my current job and it was only about money; I worked there for another year and a half.

I am not sure what kind of increase the new company offered to you, but I would have to think that the combination of the two ups in salary would be substantial. Why would your current company make that offer to you now? Why weren't they paying you more already?

You know your situation better than anyone else, but apparently you were satisfied with the offer that your potential employer offered to you. In your long-term career, a position with more responsibilities will likely yield you more money over time.

If you are concerned about leaving money on the table, consider bring it up with the potential employer... see if you can get more money out of them.
    2024 Renew: [ ] AZ-204 [ ] AZ-305 [ ] AZ-400 [ ] AZ-500 [ ] Vault Assoc.
    2024 New: [X] AWS SAP [ ] CKA [ ] Terraform Auth/Ops Pro
  • HypntickHypntick Member Posts: 1,451 ■■■■■■□□□□
    powerfool wrote: »