Options

CCNP or CCIE?

barquerabarquera Member Posts: 21 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi Everyone,

I have 10 years of Helpdesk/Support Analyst experience.
I am 1 year 4 months into my first Network Engineering job.
My job title: Field Technician
Over the course of my time at this job I have read the CCNA ICND 1 & 2 books cover to cover (Great Books by the way!).
I took the CCNA exam and barely Failed the first time.
I took the CCNA exam and barely Passed the second time.
I now have my CCNA.
I am part of a Team that provides 24/7 on-site Network support.
(We manage the Network only. Not the Servers).
We manage the following:
2 Cisco ASA 5520s
2 Cisco Nexus 7010s
12 Cisco 4948s
26 Cisco 6509s

At this point I feel that I have a solid foundation with Cisco.
I am debating wether or not to go for the CCNP or straight to CCIE.
Half of my shift I assist with the network but the other half I have available to read.
So my question is, being that I work on Cisco equipment at work, have time to read at work and have my CCNA, should I go for the CCNP or CCIE? I am not in a rush but at the same time I don't want to waste my time with anything.
Any advice would be greatly appreciate.
Also, being that this is my first job in a Network Engineering environment I was wondering if someone could tell me what the size of this network is considered? Small, Medium, Large?
I don't have a measuring stick to compare this job or network to since this if my first Network Engineering job. All my prior jobs were Helpdesk environment.

Comments

• Options
    EssendonEssendon Member Posts: 4,546 ■■■■■■■■■■
    First off, welcome to the forums!

I aint no Cisco guru but I can confidently tell you that the gap between the CCNP and the CCIE is ENORMOUS. You will not waste your time doing the CCNP. Besides, it would also make a lot of sense to get a senior network engineering role while you are working away on your CCNP/CCIE. Nothing beats real world experience.

The CCIE aint no walk in the park...