Certifications\CE\Master's Degree to further a career

RockmanJL9981RockmanJL9981 Registered Users Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am new to the IT field as I've spent the last 10 years as a musician. I recently received my BA in music as well. In order to get my foot in the door, I started studying for the Comptia exams and have attained 6 IT certifications. I landed my first IT job as a customer support rep. I'm interested to know from a successful IT professional (by that I mean 6 figure salary) about continuing to pursue more certs as well as a Masters from Western Governors. I keep getting the negative statement about how Certifications are worthless without the experience and how "no Master IT degree program will be of any use to me". While this may be true, I know having a Masters degree will at least let me apply for jobs that require a masters. I understand how the nature of IT shuns anything but experience, but I still don't think studying, learning, and obtaining certs is a waste of time. Any thoughts? Thank you Much!!

Comments

• mikej412mikej412 Member Posts: 10,086 ■■■■■■■■■■
    I landed my first IT job as a customer support rep.
    What's your plan for your next job and the one after that -- besides a 6 figure salary? What are you good at doing? What do you like doing? Are you good at any of the things you like doing?

Do you have any room for advancement at your current job? Is there any possibility of working with any other groups or teams -- and making some contacts (and friends) who might let you know about future openings in their group?

Does your family own a company you can work for?

Certifications and education will open some doors and may get you some interviews, but your experience (and your people skills during the interview) is what will most likely get you the job offers (and big bucks) later in your career.
    :mike: Cisco Certifications -- Collect the Entire Set!
  • RockmanJL9981RockmanJL9981 Registered Users Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□