What is the expected job outlook profile for the IT field?

SPL TechSPL Tech Member Posts: 12 ■□□□□□□□□□
I currently work as an Information Systems Technician for the United States Navy. I will be separating from the service soon and I will peruse a bachelor’s degree as soon as I leave the service. The question, do I stay in the IT field? I am considering getting a BS in IT security as I feel that would best couple with my current experience (TS/SCI clearance, Navy fleet communications experience, ect.).

Currently I am under the impression that the IT field is pretty open, after all if you type "top 10 jobs with the best outlook" into Google, IT and RN make the list most of the time. But is that still true? The "state of the IT field" sticky makes things look grim, but it’s also seven years old, so I will ignore it for the moment and ask here.

Also, of the various specific job markets in the IT field, which is probably the best to choose? I am kind of torn between a BS in network admin and security. I have no interest in programming, or Internet application work, I enjoy moving around and working with my hands, I don’t want to sit at a workstation all day and read endless amounts of HTML or Java.

Comments

• mikej412mikej412 Member Posts: 10,086 ■■■■■■■■■■
    SPL Tech wrote: »
    TS/SCI clearance
    If you have skills and don't mind working for government/defense contractors your clearance makes you golden.
    :mike: Cisco Certifications -- Collect the Entire Set!
  • SPL TechSPL Tech Member Posts: 12 ■□□□□□□□□□
    mikej412 wrote: »
    If you have skills and don't mind working for government/defense contractors your clearance makes you golden.

True, however all clearances expire no later than 24 months after your read out and a B.S. takes about 36 months to earn, so my clearance will be expired by then. But yes, I am interested in working for the US Government or a contractor, that’s my primary objective.
  • jtoastjtoast Member Posts: 226