Unable to ping Default Gateway

busines4ubusines4u Member Posts: 67 ■■□□□□□□□□
So i feel like a complete noob not being able to figure this one out. Here is the scenario.

I am testing out a Layer 3 switch, Cisco 3550. I have two of the interfaces configured as routed ports and traffic is able to get where it needs to but there is a strange issue that I cannot figure out and was wondering if any of you Cisco gurus out there have seen such a thing.

I have a layer 2 switch connected to fa0/2 of the Cisco 3550. Fa0/1 connects to our main router that has connections to the rest of the network. The IP on the 3550 fa0/2 is 192.168.251.1 and the vlan 1 on the layer 2 switch is 192.168.251.2. If i power on the 3550 I can ping the Default Gateway for that interface (192.168.251.1) but after some amount of time elapses I can no longer ping this IP from behind that routed port (a machine connected to the layer 2 switch). I am able to get responses via other subnets but it is something from behind this Layer 3 switch that does not allow the ping responses to be sent back. I do not have any access-lists created to block any traffic.

The real kicker is that the machine connected to the Layer 3 switch is able to get to the internet and ping other gateways in the network so its not like the default gateway is down but it won't ping, and if i ever needed to troubleshoot this device I would definately get hung up on this because I simply can't ping the gateway telling me that i only have Layer 2 network connectivity.

Here is a basic topology to get an idea

InternetRouter<
FA0/1>Cisco3550<Fa0/2
>Cisco2900<---->laptop

Any ideas on this? If any one needs more info let me know.

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• dead_p00ldead_p00l Member Posts: 136
    Just a quess after a quick glance but I would say add a default route on the 2900.
    This is our world now... the world of the electron and the switch, the
    beauty of the baud.
  • darkerzdarkerz Member Posts: 431 ■■■■□□□□□□