is 25 to late to start a career in it?

andyjudd1andyjudd1 Member Posts: 29 ■□□□□□□□□□

Comments

• brad-brad- Member Posts: 1,218
    of course not. thats about when i started after i got out of the army, and i didnt do IT in the army.

if you cant type, get some typing software and practice. hopefully you have a good base to start from or itll be a long road to hoe.
  • LAN_ManLAN_Man Member Posts: 31 ■■□□□□□□□□
    No way! I started when I was 25 and 3 years later I work as a network admin. Just study hard and look for some hands on experience. icon_cheers.gif
  • andyjudd1andyjudd1 Member Posts: 29 ■□□□□□□□□□
    thanks your comments are very encouraging. :D
  • Cisco InfernoCisco Inferno Member Posts: 1,034 ■■■■■■□□□□
    your soft skills such as customer service is regarded as very important in entry level IT.
    im sure you have some past work history to support this case.

im 21 and just starting. a couple months ago i was sweating just as hard as you are.
    no worries man.
    2019 Goals
    CompTIA Linux+
    [ ] Bachelor's Degree
  • techlady007techlady007 Member Posts: 24 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Don't let age discourage you from doing IT. I've seen many people wayyyyyyy older getting established in IT as a career change. Age doesn't mean nothing, its the knowledge and determination that really matters in this field.
  • veritas_libertasveritas_libertas Member Posts: 5,746 ■■■■■■■■■■
    andyjudd1 wrote: »

I'm just getting settled into IT and I'm older than you. icon_wink.gif
  • chrisonechrisone Member Posts: 2,278 ■■■■■■■■■□
    nope not late at all, you can study and gain a lot of experience in just 3 to 5 years. Trust me the years go by fast and as long as you stay consistant in your studies and jobs/experience you can excel vastly in such small amounts of time. icon_thumright.gif
    Certs: CISSP, EnCE, OSCP, CRTP, eCTHPv2, eCPPT, eCIR, LFCS, CEH, SPLK-1002, SC-200, SC-300, AZ-900, AZ-500, VHL:Advanced+
    2023 Cert Goals: SC-100, eCPTX