Entry Level Employment...how!!

kvermillion1kvermillion1 Member Posts: 24 ■□□□□□□□□□
So I graduated from UMD in December with a BS in IT. I quickly picked up the network+ and security+ certs. I am now in month 3 of the job search and my question is how the heck do I get an entry level job in a helpdesk or related position, when all of these "entry level" jobs want 2+ years experience, numerous certs, and experience/knowledge of SO many different technologies?

I understand the need for experienced individuals but even experienced IT people had to start somewhere I'm assuming. What am I missing here? Can anyone offer some advice on how to break into this field?
:study: Certified: CompTIA Network+, Security+
Up Next: CCNA, MCITP: SA(70-640,70-642,70-646)

Comments

• ugarnerugarner Registered Users Posts: 9 ■□□□□□□□□□
    im in the EXACT same boat, minus a cert. i mean, i dont understand how you gain experience if no one is willing to give you some experience.
  • kvermillion1kvermillion1 Member Posts: 24 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I will tell you, ugarner, that there seems to be a little light at the end of the tunnel with gov't positions, where if you have a high GPA 3.5+ and are a recent graduate, you may be able to get it. I am awaiting a few responses for a few positions as we speak. BUT outside of the gov't positions, these private sector and smaller companies have some outrageous requirements for entry level, in my opinion.
  • geek4godgeek4god Member Posts: 187
    I will tell you, ugarner, that there seems to be a little light at the end of the tunnel with gov't positions, where if you have a high GPA 3.5+ and are a recent graduate, you may be able to get it. I am awaiting a few responses for a few positions as we speak. BUT outside of the gov't positions, these private sector and smaller companies have some outrageous requirements for entry level, in my opinion.