For the Linux people; Redhat vs SUSE on the job?

pwjohnstonpwjohnston Member Posts: 441
I'm a Windows SysAdmin and we currently have a half dozen CentOS 5.5 machines at my current job. I also use Fedora 14 at home. I've been trying to get up to speed on Linux and feel like sticking with the RedHat derivatives as opposed to trying a new distro whenever something new comes out has really helped me.

I have a job interview coming up and it sounds like something I'd really like. They have an upgrade of VMWare from 3.5 to 4.1 in the works and virtualization is really my focus right now. Anyway the guy told me that they use SUSE and he really doesn't like RedHat. I don't remember how he described it, but he made it sound like it was too specialized and SUSE is more open.

This is the job description.
Experience with MS Windows 2000, 2003 and 2008, Active Directory Architecture, deployment and group policies Red Hat and Novell SUSE Linux Enterprise server (SLES), OES NetWare (On Linux).

Experience with multiple virtualization products including VMware ESX and VMware desktop.

Experience with tools used to analyze and perform bulk changes to LDAP directory content including Apache LDAP studio and MS Access.

Experience with XML, LDIF, VB script., SSL and secure communications, SLP, DDNS, YAST, RPM, PAM., CRON, Sniffer Pro and Wire Shark .

Is going into a SUSE environment going to screw up all the good linux mojo I have going on? I like working in Fedora/CentOS now. Is there a real difference?

Comments

• Forsaken_GAForsaken_GA Member Posts: 4,024
    There are differences, but you'll quickly adapt. Unix is unix. I had to make the jump from a debian shop to a red hat shop, and it was fine after a couple months after I got used to the differences in the two platforms.
  • undomielundomiel Member Posts: 2,818