Look for in a college

xirtlookxirtlook Member Posts: 124
Just curious to what everyone looks for in a College?

I have my Associates Degree in Network Technology, and looking to transfer from my Community College to another school.

I want to major in Information Assurance or Cyber Security.

I care about the value of the education, dont want a school with "fluff" and not enough applied experience.

Seems like most schools I could transfer to, are online courses anyway, since I would be a Junior.

some things that are my deciding factors

-Cost
-Degree Program
-Credits willing to accept
-Masters program vs Bachelor Program

what does everyone else look for?
nerd power.

Comments

• qwismqwism Member Posts: 19 ■□□□□□□□□□
    where have you looked locally? i noticed you're in baltimore and i've spent most of my nights researching schools around that dc/va/md area and you have a few really good options if you're able to move/dorm.
  • erpadminerpadmin Member Posts: 4,165 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Curious...what didn't you like about UMUC since it does have a Cybersecurity program?

I would imagine that you looked at it, since you're in MD. UMUC is one of the oldest (that I can tell) of the online schools that are B&M...along with U of IL-Springfield.

All I know is when I think of U-MD, I think of College Park (as I'm sure employers would as well). Never been to College Park (been to Towson though and also University of B-More during my meet online chick phase.....lmao).
  • brad-brad- Member Posts: 1,218
    xirtlook wrote: »
    I want to major in Information Assurance or Cyber Security.

I care about the value of the education, dont want a school with "fluff" and not enough applied experience.

-Cost
    -Degree Program