Options

Career advice needed

new2securitynew2security Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi Everyone!
I seriously need some career advice.

Background:
I'm 32 years old (had a late start in the field! hehe). I have a BS in IT (2006) and a MS in IA (2009). Certifications I have are Network+ and Security+. I let the CCNA expire a while back. I've been a Systems/Network Administrator for a little over 4 years with a 52k salary. Experience includes Windows servers, Exchange, SQL, Sharepoint, Cisco ASA, Virtualization, etc., in short...jack of all trades, master of none...which I've been happy with till now. I work for a small government contractor and have a clearance. I just joined my local ISSA chapter. There is a slight possibility that I might get laid off if my company doesn't get more contracts this year.

Dilemma:
Which certification path to follow? A friend of mine suggested to stick with Microsoft completely and forget the rest..saying that I would be able to find a full time job any time and contract on the side. Or do I obtain multiple certifications from different vendors? I understand that satisfies the HR requirements these days and possibly better opportunities to get jobs. My long term career goal is towards security. Would it be possible to follow ONLY GIAC certs at this stage of my career and find a better job? I know the SANS training is expensive, but the costs of training and upgrading certs from other vendors over time adds up. The upfront costs of SANS is expensive. Would it be worth it though?

How I spend my time:
I'm married with no kids. My commute to work is almost hour and half each way. I just put my house up for sale so I can move closer to the city and going back to renting. At work, during my extra time...I read up on the server side of stuff and I have a small lab setup to keep up with the changing trends. At home I get around 1-2 hours daily and spend my time reading security related books and articles.