Help with WLAN controllers

boileboile Member Posts: 21 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi Everyone,
Thanks a lot for reading my post. Now my question is:

I am really new to Cisco Wireless technology. I have some WLAN controllers, and some AP's to configure for our network.

I tried to configure a WLAN and an AP in a test environment. The output is:

My client machines can see the SSID on the network manager. It means, my AP is broadcasting the SSID, that I setup on my WLAN controller. However, when I try to connect my client to the SSID(network). It shows its connecting, but it does not connect. So, that means I have done something wrong with the configuration. Can anyone please help.

Another problem is, how do I setup my controllers, or what do I need to do for the password-key authentication. So that my clients would need to provide a pass-phrase key, when I ask it to connect to the network.

I went through the Cisco documentation, and some online resources. Since, this is the first time I am dealing with Cisco WLAN and APs. I am facing difficulties.

Any help would be appreciated.

Comments

• SteveO86SteveO86 Member Posts: 1,423
    What Software Version and Model WLC do you have?

Google the Configuration guide from Cisco's site, that will provide you more then enough information.
    My Networking blog
    Latest blog post: Let's review EIGRP Named Mode
    Currently Studying: CCNP: Wireless - IUWMS
  • Jas21Jas21 Member Posts: 51 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Hi

Rather than start a new thread - hope no-one minds me hijacking this?

I have a 520 WLAN controller - approx 3 -5 AP's (not sure of exact model as yet) and have been asked to create a separate 'guest' WLAN which just have access to the Internet and goes nowhere near the corporate LAN.

I'm totally new to this and wondered if anyone had any tips config wise? I take it I create a new VLAN and have the WLAN controller broadcast a 'guest' SSID
  • mikearamamikearama Member Posts: 749