What would you do if you feel that you're not used to your full potential at work?

loss4wordsloss4words Member Posts: 165 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi guys,

What would you do if you had just started working (about 2 years) in a helpdesk/desktop support role, but feel that your skills are not recognized and you don't feel that you're being challenged at all. I'm working an evening shift (3pm-11pm) on most days and my day-to-day responsibilites are just not challenging at all and there's not much that I could do to improve. There's a separation of duties for all technicians at my job and I feel like I'm at the lowest of the low being asked to do the simplest stuff and that I'm only here because other workers didn't want to work the evening shift.

I started studying for certifications (just passed Net+, and have A+ and 70-620) under my belt and decided to go back to school since the job will pay for it, and let my supervisors know what I'm studying and my school plans.

I just wanted to ask what would you do in my position?

Comments

• cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    I was in the very same situation almost 8 years ago. In my case the company I worked for was great with superb salary and benefits so I didn't feel an urge to flee. I made the most out of it by studying for Net+, 70-270, 70-271 and 70-272.
  • mattlee09mattlee09 Member Posts: 205
    Agreed - continue to milk it and pump out learning/certs for the next few months, then reassess.

Try and get some experience in the job you want to be in. It sounds like your current environment is hostile to this, so you might have to network with other professionals outside your organization and talk with them.
  • ehndeehnde Member Posts: 1,103
    2 - 5 years at a job generally doesn't raise eyebrows. I agree with the others. If your job isn't sucking the life out of you get some more certs.