Sscp

DorobeeDorobee Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am new to the message board. I am thinking of taking the SSCP or CISSP just want advise on this I do not have any security experience but have been in the IT industry for a number of years. I also a masters in computer and network security.

Comments

• JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,023 Admin
    With no InfoSec work experience, you should have a look at the CompTIA Security+ certification first. You will need verifiable InfoSec work experience to get the SSCP and CISSP.
  • [Deleted User][Deleted User] Member Posts: 0 ■■■□□□□□□□
    The user and all related content has been deleted.
  • Bl8ckr0uterBl8ckr0uter Inactive Imported Users Posts: 5,031 ■■■■■■■■□□
    With no Security Experience, Security+ would be a better way to dip your toe in. Going Security+, then SSCP, then CISSP would be a good path for an entry level pro.
  • incry6tincry6t Member Posts: 12 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Dorobee wrote: »
    I am new to the message board. I am thinking of taking the SSCP or CISSP just want advise on this I do not have any security experience but have been in the IT industry for a number of years. I also a masters in computer and network security.

pretty much what above said. i passed security+ and studying for sscp now. though kind of regretting it since i'm into pentest instead of management. i wouldn't do sscp after security+, just go for cissp if you're into management.
  • azjagazjag Member Posts: 579 ■■■■■■■□□□
    incry6t wrote: »
    pretty much what above said. i passed security+ and studying for sscp now. though kind of regretting it since i'm into pentest instead of management. i wouldn't do sscp after security+, just go for cissp if you're into management.

Why not? That is the process I followed. I found that taking the exams in that order helped me to understand the material better.
    Currently Studying:
    VMware Certified Advanced Professional 5 – Data Center Administration (VCAP5-DCA) (Passed)