Polling for advice.. CCNA or EA

TimTheEnchantorTimTheEnchantor Member Posts: 26 ■□□□□□□□□□
I've found multitudes of threads and blog posts that give me glimpses of answers to my questions. I figure if I pose my questions in a more direct manner - it will make sense to figure out if the CCNA is right for me right now or to continue toward my EA. Thank you in advance for any advice. The resume thread I made earlier really helped me and I am coming back for more.

My first question is: Is the CCNA going to be changed soon? Some places say they updated this month (April 2011) and should reflect the newest concepts. The CCNP was changed in 2010.

My second question is: Dependent on the first question since I am a Cisco newb; how many and what model routers/switches should I purchase for my lab? (I found this: Lab Blog from Network World but I just don't want to spend money on gear that will be obsolete on the test.)

My third question is: Considering my path, should I just finish my Enterprise Administrator with Microsoft? I just received my Server Administrator credential (MCITP) and I have finished my Vista certification. I figure, the Vista cert will expire sometime next year or so. Maybe I should just get my EA and then move onto CCNA.

My job situation is that I am working for a small company in a smallish town. I am doing System Admin work (like planning and implementing our Active Directory migration from NT to 2008 R2, server maintenance, infrastructure planning, etc.) but I am being paid like a Help Desk technician which is my main role. I work with AdTran routers, but not on any regular basis.

I'm fine for right now, but I want the credentials and lab experience to move further. I want to make the move to a more server or network administrative role and maybe in the next 5-10 years move into a more InfoSec or Network Security/Pen Tester role or consultant. Ultimately, I know I will need to probably go to a larger city to find the work I am looking for.