Have to get A+...

ciscogeraldciscogerald Member Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
I just had an interview for a job was told if I get the job I have to get my A+ within 90 days. I've built and upgraded pc's for years and installed OS's, usually win98, xp, Linux. I even have a home network. Anyways I have the A+ dummies book, will that be enough for the exam. I have the practical exp but the book knowledge is a different beast entirely. I don't want a paper cert as some people call this, I don't by the way, I really want to know it.

I am also studying for my CCNA and want to get that out of the way by Dec 1. So that makes 2 certs, 3 tests, by Dec 1.

I know the tests for A+ are going to be hard but any help you guys can offer would be great.

BTW I have 3 kids and study time is limited to 2 hrs a day.

Gerald

Comments

• chris2wirechris2wire Member Posts: 20 ■□□□□□□□□□
    The impotrant factor with A+ is that youre predisposed to computers and their fundamental workings. You know what a CPU is already, A+ will teach you how it works. You know what ram is, A+ will teach you how it works, as well as its widths and buses. You know what configuration of hardware is, A+ will teach you in depth things like IRQ's and COM addresses. You know you plug things into ports on the back of the computer, A+ will teach you what those ports are and where they go.

I found a good strategy for A+ is to breeze through a book, like read it fast without attempting to understand EVERYTHING, then when youre done start doing every practice test you can get your hands on. The general knowledge of quickly reading a book and the specific knowledge of test questions combine to make you pass.

I found I learned MUCH more from practice exams than any books. The reason is a practice exam sparks a critical thought process in your brain and anything you learn on a practice test will be retained in memory much better than something you read out of a book.
  • PlantwizPlantwiz Mod Posts: 5,057 Mod