Just Halabi's book OK for BGP test?

wolverene13wolverene13 Member Posts: 87 ■■□□□□□□□□
I am currently studying for the BGP test and I got Sam Halabi's "Internet Routing Architectures," which is supposed to basically be the "BGP Bible." However, it's a little dated being that it refers to MPLS as "an emerging technology" and seems to be almost too easy being that I already read half the book in 3 days. In the experience of those who have taken the BGP test, is this book sufficient? Because I was also thinking about getting BGP Design and Implementation as well if Halabi's book is not enough.
Currently Studying: CCIP - 642-611 - MPLS
CCIP Progress: [x] BSCI
[x] BGP
[ ] MPLS
[ ] QoS

Comments

• networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    That was the only book I read completely for the exam but I wouldn't use that as your single source. I also went through the official course material and lots of white papers.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • jovan88jovan88 Member Posts: 393
    I'm about to sit this exam soon, I've read IRA and I would say it is lacking a bit. Hopefully whitepapers and plenty of lab hours will be key to passing this.
  • mkomonmkomon Member Posts: 37 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I would not use it as the only source for the BGP exam (as I haven't done it myself). The CLI syntax in the book is rather out of date and it lacks a number of features that appear on the blueprint/exam. You should get at least one more resource, preferably BGP case studies/config guides at cisco.com.
  • j4sj4s Member Posts: 18 ■□□□□□□□□□
    It was the only book I read, but I did quite a lot of lab using GNS, and went through a number of other resources such as the cisco command line guide and some white papers.

The book is a good grounding in BGP, but you need to check the up to date cli options as they could well appear in the exam.

JC
  • Forsaken_GAForsaken_GA Member Posts: 4,024