My CISSP Journey

instant000instant000 Member Posts: 1,745
CISSP Journey:
Exam Taken in Omaha, Nebraska: March 27, 2011 @ 9 AM (Sunday)
Results Received from ISC2: April 11, 2011 @ 3 PM (Monday)
Pass or Fail: Passed !!!!!!!!!!
Endorsement Sent in: April 12, 2011 @ 10 AM (Tuesday)
Endorsement Received: by ISC2 April 13, 2011 @ 12:29 PM (Wednesday)
Final Result Received: May 10,2011 @10:34 AM (Tuesday)

Now I'm working at getting the resume and stuff together for the sponsor. I thought ahead, so I contacted the coworker when I started studying, so I don't need to search for a sponsor.

I did not previously post on the forum that I was pursuing this certification, LOL ... for obvious reasons.

What did I use to prepare?

cccure.org (I did the free practice exams, I'm a cheap-skate stuff)
Boson (An audio book)
Shon Harris All-In-One, 5th Edition

How long did I prepare?

On March 9, I decided that I would pursue this cert, and asked the coworker to sponsor me. I had bought the Shon Harris book earlier, but had never opened it, due to studying something else for the job I had just started in mid-February. This might seem like a very short preparation schedule, but I'm not that busy at work (ssshhhhh), so I did hours and hours of studying at the office each day. (More studying than working, if that gives you any idea.)

I began studying, and I got through the entire Shon Harris book. I did the practice exams in the book, as well as on the CD. I also prepared with the cccure.org practice tests (the free ones). I also listened to Boson audio books. I can say that the cccure.org practice questions were some of the best questions to prepare with, and I wanted to get the paid version, but I was just going it cheap, LOL.